If you were in a car accident recently, you could have a lot of injuries and property damage. The good news is that you can file a car insurance claim, and if necessary, you can even file a car accident lawsuit so you can get the compensation you deserve.
Some of that compensation can include medical costs, lost earnings and pain, and suffering. But remember that the things that you do in the first few hours and days after the car accident can have a major effect on how much compensation you’ll get.
Below are some of the things that you shouldn’t do after a car accident. If you have questions, you should talk to a car accident lawyer in Portland, Oregon, right away.
First, it’s a mistake to not call the police to the scene of the crash. Some car accident victims don’t want to call the police because they just don’t want the police involved and they don’t want to take the time. They might think, Oh, the car is drivable and damages are minor and I feel okay, so what’s the point?
But if you have any injuries or damages, it’s really important to call the police to the scene. Also, most states require you to call the police to a car accident scene if there are serious injuries death, or damages over $400 or $500. Also, the police report is proof that the car accident occurred.
The auto insurance company, other drivers, or attorneys will have a harder time denying your car accident claim if there’s a police report. But if the police don’t show up at the accident scene, you should go to your local law enforcement office and file a car accident report. That way, if you file a claim or have a lawsuit you’ll have that paperwork.
Another mistake is leaving the scene of the car accident. Even if you didn’t cause the auto accident, you’re going to undermine your credibility and could damage your claim if you leave the scene.
You should wait for the car accident scene until the police arrive. If the police do not arrive, you should exchange all the relevant information with other drivers in the crash, including your name, your address, your license plate number, your driver’s license number, and your auto insurance information.
If you leave the car accident scene and you don’t share this information, you could eventually be charged with a hit and run, even if you weren’t at fault for the accident. Also, you can contact your best car accident lawyer Portland, Oregon from the car accident scene, And that could be the best course of action if you have serious injuries.
Another big problem in car accidents is when people don’t get medical attention right away. It’s common for people to look at themselves up and down after the car accident and say, well I’m not really hurt, and I think I’m okay.
But three days later he may discover you have a pounding headache, your neck hurts in your lower back, and you can’t get out of bed. It can take a few days for the adrenaline to wear off, and your muscles to stiffen up, and you could have serious injuries that you didn’t know about at first.
But if you didn’t go to the doctor, it will be hard to tie your injuries to the car accident. The other driver’s insurance company will probably say that your injuries were caused by something else. So even if you think you’re okay, it’s a good idea to go to the emergency room or your doctor to be checked over. Your doctor could find injuries that you don’t know about at first. The sooner you have a paper trail of your medical of your injuries from the car accident, the more likely be able to get a fair settlement.
Another big problem with car accidents is when someone admits fault after the crash. When you’re in a car accident and you get out and you talk to the other drivers, it’s always easy to say it was your fault or say that you’re sorry You shouldn’t say anything like this. If you say anything to the other drivers, you probably should just ask them if they’re injured and if they’re okay. Then, get their contact information.
You shouldn’t say anything about yourself, and you should only stick to the facts. The worst thing you can do for your case admits fault. It’s especially bad if you do that when the police are there because if you admit fault, it’s going to be hard to blame the other person for the car accident later. You should let your attorney and the police uncover all the facts about the car accident and don’t venture any opinions yourself.
The last thing is when people don’t report their car accident to their insurance company. You’re supposed to report your car accident to the insurance company as soon as possible, usually within a day or two. There’s no hard time limit, but the longer you wait to file the claim, the more hassle the insurance company is going to give you.
If you’re in a car accident and you don’t file a report for three or four weeks, that the auto insurance company may deny the claim outright and you could have injuries and serious property damage.
Hopefully, this article gave you some ideas of what you shouldn’t do after a car accident. Always remember if you have questions, and wonder if you have a case, you should contact your car accident lawyer in Portland, Oregon for more information.